Savings, current & salary accounts

Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account — Branch Channel

branch-channel basic savings account with nil balance requirements, unrestricted deposits, a free annual cheque book and specified no-charge basic services.

Official product page ↗Compare category

Quick eligibility check

Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account — Branch Channel

0 of 7 answered

Answer what you know. This guide compares your answers with the criteria published for this product; it is not an approval decision. Your answers stay on this device.

1Can you provide this required proof: Any individual with valid KYC documents and no existing BSBD account?

Published source: Eligibility and operating modes

2Do you meet this requirement: single, joint and listed survivor modes are permitted?

Published source: Eligibility and operating modes

3Can you provide this required proof: An individual must provide valid KYC documents and cannot already hold a BSBD account at SBI or another bank?

4Do you meet this requirement: SBI requires a declaration that no other BSBD account exists before opening this account or converting an existing savings account?

5Do you meet this requirement: Single, joint and the listed survivor operating modes are available?

6Document checkDo you have this required document or proof: Valid KYC documents?

Published source: Eligibility and operating modes

7Document checkDo you have this required document or proof: Declaration that the customer has no BSBD account at any bank?

Published source: Eligibility and operating modes
0 of 7 answeredAnswer the remaining questions to see your checklist result.
✓ Manually checked 12 Aug 2026 · active
Offered byState Bank of India

Available at all branches in India, subject to and account-opening checks

Key facts

What the official sources publish

Every value belongs to this exact product. Expand any fact to inspect its official evidence in place.

Account type and product codeBasic Saving Bank Deposit account — Branch Channel, product code 1011-1701View source
identifies the branch-channel account and publishes its product code as 1011-1701.
Source
Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account — Branch Channel
Page / section
Product introduction
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Minimum and average balanceNil minimum balance and nil monthly average balanceView source
The Features tab states both nil and nil minimum balance.
Source
Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account — Branch Channel
Page / section
Features
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Maximum balanceNo upper limitView source
The Features tab states that there is no upper balance or amount limit.
Source
Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account — Branch Channel
Page / section
Features
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Interest rate2.50% p.a. across all savings-bank account balances, effective 15 June 2025Effective 15 Jun 2025View source
official table has one row: ‘Across all account Balances — 2.50% p.a.’ and states that it applies from 15 June 2025.
Source
Savings Bank Deposits — Interest Rates
Page / section
Savings Bank Deposits table — Applicable Interest Rates w.e.f. 15 June 2025
Accessed
29 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Cheque bookOne 25-leaf cheque book is issued free per year to eligible BSBD account holders.View source
The page publishes one cheque book of 25 leaves free per year for eligible account holders.
Source
Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account Branch Channel
Page / section
Features
Accessed
29 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Debit cardBasic RuPay ATM-cum-debit card facility is available to eligible customers; issuance is free and no annual maintenance charge applies.View source
The page states that a Basic RuPay Card facility is available and that the Basic RuPay -cum-Debit card is issued free with no annual maintenance charge.
Source
Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account Branch Channel
Page / section
Features and Most Important Terms & Conditions
Accessed
29 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Deposit frequency and valueNo monthly limit on the number or value of depositsView source
The Features tab states that neither deposit count nor deposit value is capped per month.
Source
Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account — Branch Channel
Page / section
Features
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Digital bankingDigital banking is available, including login and registration onboarding on YONOView source
specifically publishes login and registration onboarding for this branch-channel product.
Source
Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account — Branch Channel
Page / section
Features
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Eligibility and operating modesAny individual with valid KYC documents and no existing BSBD account; single, joint and listed survivor modes are permittedView source
The page permits individuals with valid and lists single, joint and survivor operating modes, while excluding a holder of another account.
Source
Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account — Branch Channel
Page / section
Eligibility and requirement
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
One-BSBD declarationHolder cannot have another BSBD account at SBI or another bank and must declare that none exists before opening or conversionView source
requires the declaration before opening a new account or converting an existing savings account.
Source
Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account — Branch Channel
Page / section
Terms & Conditions
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Free withdrawalsAt least four free withdrawals per month, counting transfers and own- or other-bank ATM transactions; POS, NEFT, RTGS, UPI, IMPS and other non-ATM digital payments are excluded from that countView source
The April 2026 page says a minimum of four withdrawals are free and expressly excludes the listed digital transactions from the withdrawal count; it does not publish the charge after the free allowance.
Source
Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account — Branch Channel
Page / section
Service Charges
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Other no-charge servicesGovernment-cheque deposit or collection, activation of an inoperative account and account closure are freeView source
The Service Charges tab lists these three services as free or without charge.
Source
Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account — Branch Channel
Page / section
Service Charges
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Salary requirementNot applicable: SBI describes this record as a savings, MACT or resident-foreign-currency account rather than a salary-package account; no salary-credit threshold applies to the product type.View source
personal catalogue identifies these products by savings/deposit or resident-FC account type, not as salary packages; salary-package variants are listed separately in the catalogue.
Source
personal savings and deposit account catalogue
Page / section
Savings Accounts, account and Resident Foreign Currency (Domestic) Account
Accessed
29 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
ATM limitsAt least four free withdrawals per month, including transfers and ATM transactions at SBI or other-bank ATMs.View source
states a minimum of four free withdrawals, including transfers and transactions at its own or another bank's , in a month.
Source
Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account Branch Channel
Page / section
Most Important Terms & Conditions
Accessed
29 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Non-maintenance chargeNo annual maintenance charge is applied to the free Basic RuPay ATM-cum-Debit card.View source
The Branch Channel page expressly says the Basic RuPay card is issued free of cost and no annual maintenance charge is applied.
Source
Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account — Branch Channel
Page / section
Most Important Terms & Conditions
Accessed
29 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Branch-channel cash withdrawal chargeFour cash withdrawals per month are free; each cash withdrawal above four costs ₹15 + GST per transaction from 1 October 2026. Branch, ATM, micro-ATM, AEPS and CASH@POS withdrawals count. Digital UPI, IMPS, NEFT, RTGS and POS transfers remain free.Effective 1 Oct 2026View source
The notice gives four free monthly cash withdrawals and ₹15 plus for each excess withdrawal; digital transfers remain free.
Source
Charges for Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account (Branch Channel)
Page / section
Page 1 — cash withdrawal
Accessed
1 Sept 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
IMPS charges from 15 February 2026Online IMPS is free up to ₹25,000; above ₹25,000 to ₹1,00,000 costs ₹2 + GST, above ₹1,00,000 to ₹2,00,000 costs ₹6 + GST and above ₹2,00,000 to ₹5,00,000 costs ₹10 + GST. Branch-channel charges are free up to ₹1,000, then ₹2 + GST (₹1,000–₹10,000), ₹4 + GST (₹10,000–₹25,000), ₹4 + GST (₹25,000–₹1,00,000), ₹12 + GST (₹1,00,000–₹2,00,000) and ₹20 + GST (₹2,00,000–₹5,00,000).Effective 15 Feb 2026View source
The table publishes separate online and branch slabs; the online charge begins only above ₹25,000 and is stated for the non-free slabs.
Source
Revised Transaction Charges On Or After 15.02.2026 (Retail Customer)
Page / section
Annexure II — retail slab table
Accessed
1 Sept 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗

Benefits and features

  • Nil minimum balance and no upper balance limit
  • One free 25-leaf cheque book each year for eligible holders
  • Free Basic RuPay card with no annual maintenance charge
  • Specified digital payments do not consume the published free-withdrawal allowance

Eligibility

  • An individual must provide valid documents and cannot already hold a account at or another bank.
  • requires a declaration that no other account exists before opening this account or converting an existing savings account.
  • Single, joint and the listed survivor operating modes are available.
  • The page states only a minimum free-withdrawal allowance; confirm any later-withdrawal charge with before transacting.

Passing a listed condition does not mean the bank will approve an application.

Documents the bank lists

  • Valid documents
  • Declaration that the customer has no account at any bank

Related official documents

Revision in ATM/ADWM Transaction Service Chargesofficial-service-charge-notice · current · accessed 25 Sept 2026
↗
SBI Basic Savings and Smart Current Account product pagesofficial-product-pages · current · accessed 29 Aug 2026
↗
Charges for Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account (Branch Channel)official-service-charge-notice · current · accessed 1 Sept 2026
↗
SBI Basic Saving Bank Deposit Account — Branch Channelofficial-product-page · current · accessed 29 Aug 2026
↗
Revised IMPS Transaction Charges On Or After 15.02.2026 (Retail Customer)official-service-charge-document · current · accessed 1 Sept 2026
↗
SBI personal savings and deposit account catalogueofficial-product-catalogue · current · accessed 29 Aug 2026
↗
Savings Bank Deposits interest ratesofficial-rate-table · current · accessed 11 Aug 2026
↗

Plan before applying

Try the numbers

Private, instant and based on the values you enter.

Try your numbers

Account interest estimate

See roughly how much interest a steady account balance could earn over the period you choose.

Balance including interest₹1,02,500one lakh two thousand five hundred rupees

This is only an estimate, not a bank or insurer offer. The final amount can change because of taxes, fees, rate changes and provider rules.

Use the published table

Find the exact published value

Choose a table, then pick its row and column. This shows the exact entry published by the bank or insurer without making you scan every cell.

This value is copied from Savings Bank Deposits — interest rate. Check the table notes before relying on it.

Source: Savings Bank Deposits — Interest Rates · Savings Bank Deposits table Open official source ↗

Published tables

Complete rates, limits and schedules

Tables preserve every reviewed row and column from the cited official source.

Table 1 · 1 row · 3 columnsSBI Savings Bank Deposits — interest rateOfficial savings-bank rate applicable across account balances.View tableHide table

Scroll sideways to view every column

SBI Savings Bank Deposits — interest rate
Balance scopeInterest rateEffective from
Across all account balances2.50% p.a.15 June 2025
  • The issuer's page states the last update as 14 June 2025; product-specific terms and applicable tax rules still govern each account.
Savings Bank Deposits — Interest Rates · Savings Bank Deposits table · effective 15 Jun 2025 · accessed 29 Aug 2026Open official source ↗
Table 2 · 5 rows · 4 columnsSBI other-bank ATM/ADWM allowance and chargesCurrent rows from SBI's 1 December 2025 notice. GST is added where the notice says plus GST.View tableHide table

Scroll sideways to view every column

SBI other-bank ATM/ADWM allowance and charges
Account groupFree monthly transactionsCash withdrawal after allowanceNon-financial transaction after allowance
Salary Package savings accounts — all variants10 combined financial/non-financial₹23 + ₹11 +
Current accounts — personal and businessNone₹23 + per transaction₹11 + per transaction
accountsFirst four cash withdrawals; digital transactions excludedExisting charge after four; amount not restated in this noticeNot applicable to the four-cash-withdrawal rule
accountsUnlimited other-bank transactionsFreeNot separately stated
Cardless cash withdrawal at or other-bank /ADWMUnlimited until further noticeFreeFree
  • /ADWM charges for debit-card holders are unchanged by this notice.
  • The reimbursement current account of a Salary Package remains free.
  • The branch-channel notice effective 1 October 2026 separately sets ₹15 + for each cash withdrawal above four per month.
Revision in /ADWM Transaction Service Charges · Pages 1-2 — all account-group rows and exceptions · effective 1 Dec 2025 · accessed 1 Sept 2026Open official source ↗
Table 3 · 6 rows · 3 columnsSBI retail IMPS service-charge slabsProposed charges effective 15 February 2026; GST applies where shown.View tableHide table

Scroll sideways to view every column

SBI retail IMPS service-charge slabs
amountOnline channelBranch channel
Up to ₹1,000FreeFree
Above ₹1,000 to ₹10,000Free₹2 +
Above ₹10,000 to ₹25,000Free₹4 +
Above ₹25,000 to ₹1,00,000₹2 + ₹4 +
Above ₹1,00,000 to ₹2,00,000₹6 + ₹12 +
Above ₹2,00,000 to ₹5,00,000₹10 + ₹20 +
  • Online charges are waived for the salary-package and Rishtey variants named in the footnote.
  • This retail document does not state charges above ₹5,00,000.
Revised Transaction Charges On Or After 15.02.2026 (Retail Customer) · Annexure II — complete online/branch table · effective 15 Feb 2026 · accessed 1 Sept 2026Open official source ↗

More from State Bank of India

Related products