Savings, current & salary accounts

Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account

basic savings account with nil minimum balance, no upper balance limit, a free Basic RuPay card and tightly limited withdrawal channels.

Official product page ↗Compare category

Quick eligibility check

Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account

0 of 6 answered

Answer what you know. This guide compares your answers with the criteria published for this product; it is not an approval decision. Your answers stay on this device.

1Can you provide this required proof: Any individual with valid KYC documents?

Published source: Eligibility and operating modes

2Do you meet this requirement: single, joint and listed survivor modes are permitted?

Published source: Eligibility and operating modes

3Can you provide this required proof: An individual must provide valid KYC documents?

4Do you meet this requirement: Single, joint and the listed survivor operating modes are available?

5Do you meet this requirement: A holder cannot retain another savings bank account and must close an existing one within 30 days after opening this BSBDA?

6Document checkDo you have this required document or proof: Valid KYC documents?

Published source: Eligibility and operating modes
0 of 6 answeredAnswer the remaining questions to see your checklist result.
✓ Manually checked 12 Aug 2026 · active
Offered byState Bank of India

Available at all branches in India, subject to and account-opening checks

Key facts

What the official sources publish

Every value belongs to this exact product. Expand any fact to inspect its official evidence in place.

Account typeBasic Savings Bank Deposit AccountView source
publishes this as a basic savings account intended to encourage saving without a burden of charges or fees.
Source
Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account
Page / section
Product introduction and Features
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Minimum balanceNilView source
The Features tab publishes a nil minimum balance.
Source
Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account
Page / section
Features
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Maximum balanceNo upper limitView source
The Features tab states that there is no upper balance or amount limit.
Source
Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account
Page / section
Features
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Interest rate2.50% p.a. across all savings-bank account balances, effective 15 June 2025Effective 15 Jun 2025View source
official table has one row: ‘Across all account Balances — 2.50% p.a.’ and states that it applies from 15 June 2025.
Source
Savings Bank Deposits — Interest Rates
Page / section
Savings Bank Deposits table — Applicable Interest Rates w.e.f. 15 June 2025
Accessed
29 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Cheque-book facilityNot availableView source
The page expressly states that this account has no cheque-book facility; the separate branch-channel product has different terms.
Source
Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account
Page / section
Features
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Withdrawal channelsWithdrawal form at SBI branches or ATM onlyView source
The Features tab limits withdrawals to branch withdrawal forms or .
Source
Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account
Page / section
Features
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Debit cardBasic RuPay ATM-cum-debit card issued free; no annual maintenance charge.View source
The page says a Basic RuPay -cum-debit card will be issued and that it is issued free of cost with no annual maintenance charge.
Source
Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account
Page / section
Features and Most Important Terms & Conditions — Service Charges
Accessed
29 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Eligibility and operating modesAny individual with valid KYC documents; single, joint and listed survivor modes are permittedView source
The page permits -compliant individuals and lists single, joint and survivor operating modes.
Source
Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account
Page / section
Eligibility and requirement
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Other savings-account restrictionCustomer cannot keep another savings bank account; an existing savings account must be closed within 30 days after opening this BSBDAView source
states that a BSBDA customer cannot have another savings bank account and gives 30 days to close one already held.
Source
Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account
Page / section
Terms And Conditions
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Free cash withdrawalsMaximum four free cash withdrawals per month, including own- and other-bank ATM withdrawals, branch cash withdrawals and AEPS cash transactionsView source
The page describes the allowance as a maximum of four cash withdrawals free each month and lists the included channels; it does not publish the charge after that allowance.
Source
Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account
Page / section
Terms And Conditions
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Other no-charge servicesElectronic receipts through NEFT or RTGS, government-cheque deposit or collection, activation of an inoperative account and account closure are freeView source
The page lists these electronic-credit and account-service items as free or without charge.
Source
Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account
Page / section
Terms And Conditions — Service Charges
Accessed
12 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Salary requirementNot applicable: SBI describes this record as a savings, MACT or resident-foreign-currency account rather than a salary-package account; no salary-credit threshold applies to the product type.View source
personal catalogue identifies these products by savings/deposit or resident-FC account type, not as salary packages; salary-package variants are listed separately in the catalogue.
Source
personal savings and deposit account catalogue
Page / section
Savings Accounts, account and Resident Foreign Currency (Domestic) Account
Accessed
29 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
ATM limitsMaximum four cash withdrawals are free each month, including own/other-bank ATM, branch cash withdrawal and AEPS transactions.View source
publishes a maximum of four cash withdrawals free of cost in a month, including , branch and cash transactions.
Source
Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account
Page / section
Most Important Terms & Conditions
Accessed
29 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Non-maintenance chargeNo annual maintenance charge is applied to the free Basic RuPay ATM-cum-Debit card; the account page also publishes no charges for activation of inoperative accounts or account closure.Effective 1 Dec 2025View source
The current page says the Basic RuPay card is free and has no annual maintenance charge, and lists no charge for inoperative-account activation or account closure.
Source
Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account
Page / section
Service Charges
Accessed
29 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Branch-channel cash withdrawal chargeFour cash withdrawals per month are free; each cash withdrawal above four costs ₹15 + GST per transaction from 1 October 2026. Branch, ATM, micro-ATM, AEPS and CASH@POS withdrawals count. Digital UPI, IMPS, NEFT, RTGS and POS transfers remain free.Effective 1 Oct 2026View source
The notice gives four free monthly cash withdrawals and ₹15 plus for each excess withdrawal; digital transfers remain free.
Source
Charges for Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account (Branch Channel)
Page / section
Page 1 — cash withdrawal
Accessed
1 Sept 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
IMPS charges from 15 February 2026Online IMPS is free up to ₹25,000; above ₹25,000 to ₹1,00,000 costs ₹2 + GST, above ₹1,00,000 to ₹2,00,000 costs ₹6 + GST and above ₹2,00,000 to ₹5,00,000 costs ₹10 + GST. Branch-channel charges are free up to ₹1,000, then ₹2 + GST (₹1,000–₹10,000), ₹4 + GST (₹10,000–₹25,000), ₹4 + GST (₹25,000–₹1,00,000), ₹12 + GST (₹1,00,000–₹2,00,000) and ₹20 + GST (₹2,00,000–₹5,00,000).Effective 15 Feb 2026View source
The table publishes separate online and branch slabs; the online charge begins only above ₹25,000 and is stated for the non-free slabs.
Source
Revised Transaction Charges On Or After 15.02.2026 (Retail Customer)
Page / section
Annexure II — retail slab table
Accessed
1 Sept 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗

Benefits and features

  • Nil minimum balance and no upper balance limit
  • Free Basic RuPay card with no annual maintenance charge
  • Specified electronic receipts and account services are free

Eligibility

  • An individual must provide valid documents.
  • Single, joint and the listed survivor operating modes are available.
  • A holder cannot retain another savings bank account and must close an existing one within 30 days after opening this BSBDA.
  • This product has no cheque book and publishes narrower withdrawal channels than separately named branch-channel BSBDA.

Passing a listed condition does not mean the bank will approve an application.

Documents the bank lists

  • Valid documents

Related official documents

Revision in ATM/ADWM Transaction Service Chargesofficial-service-charge-notice · current · accessed 25 Sept 2026
↗
SBI Basic Savings and Smart Current Account product pagesofficial-product-pages · current · accessed 29 Aug 2026
↗
Charges for Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account (Branch Channel)official-service-charge-notice · current · accessed 1 Sept 2026
↗
SBI Basic Savings Bank Deposit Accountofficial-product-page · current · accessed 29 Aug 2026
↗
Revised IMPS Transaction Charges On Or After 15.02.2026 (Retail Customer)official-service-charge-document · current · accessed 1 Sept 2026
↗
SBI personal savings and deposit account catalogueofficial-product-catalogue · current · accessed 29 Aug 2026
↗
Savings Bank Deposits interest ratesofficial-rate-table · current · accessed 11 Aug 2026
↗

Plan before applying

Try the numbers

Private, instant and based on the values you enter.

Try your numbers

Account interest estimate

See roughly how much interest a steady account balance could earn over the period you choose.

Balance including interest₹1,02,500one lakh two thousand five hundred rupees

This is only an estimate, not a bank or insurer offer. The final amount can change because of taxes, fees, rate changes and provider rules.

Use the published table

Find the exact published value

Choose a table, then pick its row and column. This shows the exact entry published by the bank or insurer without making you scan every cell.

This value is copied from Savings Bank Deposits — interest rate. Check the table notes before relying on it.

Source: Savings Bank Deposits — Interest Rates · Savings Bank Deposits table Open official source ↗

Published tables

Complete rates, limits and schedules

Tables preserve every reviewed row and column from the cited official source.

Table 1 · 1 row · 3 columnsSBI Savings Bank Deposits — interest rateOfficial savings-bank rate applicable across account balances.View tableHide table

Scroll sideways to view every column

SBI Savings Bank Deposits — interest rate
Balance scopeInterest rateEffective from
Across all account balances2.50% p.a.15 June 2025
  • The issuer's page states the last update as 14 June 2025; product-specific terms and applicable tax rules still govern each account.
Savings Bank Deposits — Interest Rates · Savings Bank Deposits table · effective 15 Jun 2025 · accessed 29 Aug 2026Open official source ↗
Table 2 · 5 rows · 4 columnsSBI other-bank ATM/ADWM allowance and chargesCurrent rows from SBI's 1 December 2025 notice. GST is added where the notice says plus GST.View tableHide table

Scroll sideways to view every column

SBI other-bank ATM/ADWM allowance and charges
Account groupFree monthly transactionsCash withdrawal after allowanceNon-financial transaction after allowance
Salary Package savings accounts — all variants10 combined financial/non-financial₹23 + ₹11 +
Current accounts — personal and businessNone₹23 + per transaction₹11 + per transaction
accountsFirst four cash withdrawals; digital transactions excludedExisting charge after four; amount not restated in this noticeNot applicable to the four-cash-withdrawal rule
accountsUnlimited other-bank transactionsFreeNot separately stated
Cardless cash withdrawal at or other-bank /ADWMUnlimited until further noticeFreeFree
  • /ADWM charges for debit-card holders are unchanged by this notice.
  • The reimbursement current account of a Salary Package remains free.
  • The branch-channel notice effective 1 October 2026 separately sets ₹15 + for each cash withdrawal above four per month.
Revision in /ADWM Transaction Service Charges · Pages 1-2 — all account-group rows and exceptions · effective 1 Dec 2025 · accessed 1 Sept 2026Open official source ↗
Table 3 · 6 rows · 3 columnsSBI retail IMPS service-charge slabsProposed charges effective 15 February 2026; GST applies where shown.View tableHide table

Scroll sideways to view every column

SBI retail IMPS service-charge slabs
amountOnline channelBranch channel
Up to ₹1,000FreeFree
Above ₹1,000 to ₹10,000Free₹2 +
Above ₹10,000 to ₹25,000Free₹4 +
Above ₹25,000 to ₹1,00,000₹2 + ₹4 +
Above ₹1,00,000 to ₹2,00,000₹6 + ₹12 +
Above ₹2,00,000 to ₹5,00,000₹10 + ₹20 +
  • Online charges are waived for the salary-package and Rishtey variants named in the footnote.
  • This retail document does not state charges above ₹5,00,000.
Revised Transaction Charges On Or After 15.02.2026 (Retail Customer) · Annexure II — complete online/branch table · effective 15 Feb 2026 · accessed 1 Sept 2026Open official source ↗

More from State Bank of India

Related products