Banking, wealth, forex & trade services

Import

IMPORT

Import service scopeImport bills under collection, import letters of credit at sight or usance, UPAS (Usance Payable at Sight) letters of credit and trade credit through standby letters of credit (SBLC).Import service feesPublished import tariffs (exclusive of GST): import LC sight commission 0.35% for the first quarter plus 0.15% per month thereafter; usance commission follows external-rating bands of 0.75% p.a. for AAA/A1+ or fully government-guaranteed, 1.00% for AA/A1, 1.25% for A/A2, 1.50% for BBB/A3 and 2.40% for BB-and-below/A4-and-below/unrated, with ₹2,000 minimum and an additional 0.40% p.a. when LC value exceeds ₹5 crore; 100% cash-security LCs are charged at 25% of the card rate; LC amendments ₹1,000; deferred-import LC commission 0.25%, 0.18% or 0.10% per quarter by amount slab (up to ₹1 crore, above ₹1–5 crore, above ₹5 crore); shipping guarantee ₹1,000 under an LC or 0.05% per month outside an LC (minimum ₹1,000); import-bill crystallisation/retirement 0.125% with ₹1,000–₹25,000 limits where exchange benefit accrues or 0.25% with ₹1,000–₹30,000 limits without it; discrepancy charge USD 50, EUR 50, GBP 50 or JPY 5,000; non-LC import bill 0.15% with ₹1,000–₹25,000 limits where exchange benefit accrues and 0.30% with ₹1,000–₹50,000 limits without it; delivery order ₹1,000; advance import remittance 0.15% (₹500–₹10,000) with exchange benefit or 0.20% (₹1,000–₹15,000) without it; import/export set-off ₹2,000 per bill; overdue custody ₹500 per bill per quarter; BOE follow-up ₹1,000 after the 180-day/90-day deadlines; merchanting import ₹3,000 per bill; counter-signing/co-acceptance/availisation 0.085% per month subject to 0.25% minimum.Published eligibilityThe service is described for Indian importers and Indian buyers purchasing from overseas sellers. The page publishes no numeric turnover, income, credit-score, tenure or document threshold; facility approval and terms are not specified on this service page.
Official product page ↗Compare category

Quick eligibility check

Import

0 of 6 answered

Answer what you know. This guide compares your answers with the criteria published for this product; it is not an approval decision. Your answers stay on this device.

1Do you meet this requirement: Indian importers and Bank of Baroda customers using import bills, import LCs, UPAS LCs or SBLC-backed trade credit?

Published source: Customer type

2Are you this type of customer: The page does not publish a narrower customer-segment restriction?

Published source: Customer type

3Do you meet this requirement: The service is described for Indian importers and Indian buyers purchasing from overseas sellers?

Published source: Published eligibility

4Do you meet this requirement: facility approval and terms are not specified on this service page?

Published source: Published eligibility

5Document checkDo you have at least one of these required documents: The page publishes no numeric turnover, income, credit-score, tenure or document threshold?

Published source: Published eligibility

6Document checkDo you have at least one of these required documents: No product-specific importer, LC, UPAS LC or SBLC document checklist is provided?

Published source: Required documents
0 of 6 answeredAnswer the remaining questions to see your checklist result.
✓ Manually checked 30 Aug 2026 · active
Offered byBank of Baroda

India; eligibility, branch and channel availability follow the official product terms

Key facts

What the official sources publish

Every value belongs to this exact product. Expand any fact to inspect its official evidence in place.

Import bills under collectionBank of Baroda handles import bills on a collection basis and routes import documents and payment through more than 220 authorised-dealer branches in India and its worldwide correspondent network.View source
The official page describes collection handling and network coverage.
Source
Import
Page / section
Import Bills under Collection
Accessed
23 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Import letter of creditThe bank's Import LC provides payment assurance to the overseas seller at sight or usance under the sale contract, helping an Indian buyer obtain better terms and a credit period.View source
The official page describes payment assurance and sight/usance terms.
Source
Import
Page / section
Import Letter of Credit
Accessed
23 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
UPAS LCA UPAS LC pays the overseas seller at sight while giving the Indian importer credit terms; payment is made to the seller's or financing bank on the Trade Credit due date with interest. Customers can open UPAS LCs in favour of Bank of Baroda overseas branches or other banks.View source
The official section explains the sight-payment and deferred-importer-credit structure.
Source
Import
Page / section
Accessed
23 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Trade credit through SBLCIssuing an SBLC enables Indian importers to obtain foreign-currency funding from Bank of Baroda's overseas branches at competitive rates to finance imports, up to the operating cycle.View source
The official page describes SBLC-backed foreign-currency funding and operating-cycle tenor.
Source
Import
Page / section
Trade Credit through SBLC
Accessed
23 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Import service scopeImport bills under collection, import letters of credit at sight or usance, UPAS (Usance Payable at Sight) letters of credit and trade credit through standby letters of credit (SBLC).View source
The official page presents these four import-service sections and their operating terms.
Source
Import
Page / section
Import Bills under Collection; Import Letter of Credit; ; Trade Credit through SBLC
Accessed
30 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Customer typeIndian importers and Bank of Baroda customers using import bills, import LCs, UPAS LCs or SBLC-backed trade credit. The page does not publish a narrower customer-segment restriction.View source
The page describes Indian buyers/importers and customers opening ; no other segment rule is stated.
Source
Import
Page / section
Import Letter of Credit; ; Trade Credit through SBLC
Accessed
30 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Import service feesPublished import tariffs (exclusive of GST): import LC sight commission 0.35% for the first quarter plus 0.15% per month thereafter; usance commission follows external-rating bands of 0.75% p.a. for AAA/A1+ or fully government-guaranteed, 1.00% for AA/A1, 1.25% for A/A2, 1.50% for BBB/A3 and 2.40% for BB-and-below/A4-and-below/unrated, with ₹2,000 minimum and an additional 0.40% p.a. when LC value exceeds ₹5 crore; 100% cash-security LCs are charged at 25% of the card rate; LC amendments ₹1,000; deferred-import LC commission 0.25%, 0.18% or 0.10% per quarter by amount slab (up to ₹1 crore, above ₹1–5 crore, above ₹5 crore); shipping guarantee ₹1,000 under an LC or 0.05% per month outside an LC (minimum ₹1,000); import-bill crystallisation/retirement 0.125% with ₹1,000–₹25,000 limits where exchange benefit accrues or 0.25% with ₹1,000–₹30,000 limits without it; discrepancy charge USD 50, EUR 50, GBP 50 or JPY 5,000; non-LC import bill 0.15% with ₹1,000–₹25,000 limits where exchange benefit accrues and 0.30% with ₹1,000–₹50,000 limits without it; delivery order ₹1,000; advance import remittance 0.15% (₹500–₹10,000) with exchange benefit or 0.20% (₹1,000–₹15,000) without it; import/export set-off ₹2,000 per bill; overdue custody ₹500 per bill per quarter; BOE follow-up ₹1,000 after the 180-day/90-day deadlines; merchanting import ₹3,000 per bill; counter-signing/co-acceptance/availisation 0.085% per month subject to 0.25% minimum.Effective 10 Dec 2022View source
The official schedule lists import , import bill, remittance, shipping-guarantee, BOE and merchanting charges in rows 23–51; the page states service charges exclude .
Source
Bank of Baroda Service Charges — export and import forex tariff
Page / section
Forex Related Charges — Imports, rows 23–51
Accessed
7 Sept 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Access channelsImport-bill collection is routed through more than 220 authorised-dealer branches in India and Bank of Baroda's worldwide correspondent network. UPAS LCs may be opened in favour of Bank of Baroda overseas branches or other banks; trade credit is funded by overseas branches through an SBLC.View source
The official page publishes the authorised-dealer/correspondent network and the overseas-branch/other-bank routes.
Source
Import
Page / section
Import Bills under Collection; ; Trade Credit through SBLC
Accessed
30 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Published eligibilityThe service is described for Indian importers and Indian buyers purchasing from overseas sellers. The page publishes no numeric turnover, income, credit-score, tenure or document threshold; facility approval and terms are not specified on this service page.View source
The full page identifies importers/buyers and describes facilities but gives no additional eligibility checklist.
Source
Import
Page / section
Complete page reviewed
Accessed
30 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗
Service coverageImport-bill collection is available through more than 220 authorised-dealer branches in India and a worldwide correspondent network. Import LCs and related facilities connect Indian buyers with overseas sellers; no narrower territory restriction is published.View source
The official page states the Indian authorised-dealer network and overseas trade routes without a state or territory exclusion.
Source
Import
Page / section
Import Bills under Collection; Import Letter of Credit; Complete page reviewed
Accessed
30 Aug 2026
Confidence
high
Open official source ↗

Eligibility

  • The service is described for Indian importers and Indian buyers purchasing from overseas sellers. The page publishes no numeric turnover, income, credit-score, tenure or document threshold
  • facility approval and terms are not specified on this service page.

Passing a listed condition does not mean the bank will approve an application.

Related official documents

Bank of Baroda Service Charges — export and import forex tariffofficial-service-charge-schedule · current · accessed 7 Sept 2026
↗
Import — Bank of Baroda official service pageofficial-product-page · current · accessed 30 Aug 2026
↗

Plan before applying

Try the numbers

Private, instant and based on the values you enter.

Use the published table

Find the exact published value

Choose a table, then pick its row and column. This shows the exact entry published by the bank or insurer without making you scan every cell.

This value is copied from Import — complete published service terms. Check the table notes before relying on it.

Source: Import · Import Bills under Collection; Import Letter of Credit; ; Trade Credit through SBLC Open official source ↗

Published tables

Complete rates, limits and schedules

Tables preserve every reviewed row and column from the cited official source.

Table 1 · 8 rows · 2 columnsImport — complete published service termsStructured capture of every facility, route, network detail and explicit review outcome from the official Import page.View tableHide table

Scroll sideways to view every column

Import — complete published service terms
ServicePublished detail
Import bills under collectionHandled through more than 220 authorised-dealer branches in India and a worldwide correspondent network
Import letter of creditPayment assurance to an overseas seller at sight or usance, helping an Indian buyer obtain better terms or a credit period
Overseas seller is paid at sight; Indian importer pays the seller's or financing bank on the Trade Credit due date with interest; may favour overseas branches or other banks
Trade credit through SBLCIndian importer receives foreign-currency funding from overseas branches at competitive rates, up to the operating cycle
FeesNo numeric import///SBLC tariff published on the reviewed page
EligibilityIndian importer/buyer activity; no additional numeric threshold published
DocumentsNo product-specific checklist published
CoverageIndia authorised-dealer branch network plus worldwide correspondent/overseas-bank routes; no narrower territory restriction published
  • means letter of credit; means Usance Payable at Sight; SBLC means standby letter of credit.
Import · Import Bills under Collection; Import Letter of Credit; ; Trade Credit through SBLC · accessed 30 Aug 2026Open official source ↗
Table 2 · 8 rows · 2 columnsImport forex service chargesKey import charges from the official schedule; all amounts exclude GST.View tableHide table

Scroll sideways to view every column

Import forex service charges
ServicePublished charge
Import Sight 0.35% first quarter + 0.15% p.m.; usance 0.75%–2.40% p.a. by rating, min ₹2,000; +0.40% p.a. above ₹5 crore
amendment / cash security₹1,000 per amendment; 100% cash-security at 25% of card rate
Deferred-import 0.25%, 0.18% or 0.10% per quarter by amount slab
Shipping guarantee₹1,000 under ; 0.05% p.m. outside , min ₹1,000
Import bill crystallisation0.125% (₹1,000–₹25,000) with exchange benefit; 0.25% (₹1,000–₹30,000) without
Non- import bill0.15% (₹1,000–₹25,000) with exchange benefit; 0.30% (₹1,000–₹50,000) without
Advance remittance0.15% (₹500–₹10,000) with exchange benefit; 0.20% (₹1,000–₹15,000) without
Other import chargesDelivery order ₹1,000; set-off ₹2,000/bill; overdue custody ₹500/bill/quarter; merchanting ₹3,000/bill; BOE follow-up ₹1,000
  • Discrepancy charges are USD 50, EUR 50, GBP 50 or JPY 5,000; the page states service charges are exclusive of .
Bank of Baroda Service Charges · Forex Related Charges — Imports, rows 23–51 · effective 10 Dec 2022 · accessed 7 Sept 2026Open official source ↗

More from Bank of Baroda

Related products