Key facts
What the official sources publish
Every value belongs to this exact product. Expand any fact to inspect its official evidence in place.
Policy typeOne-year renewable personal-accident insurance for accidental death and specified permanent disabilities.View source
The current DFS describes as one-year renewable personal-accident cover for death or disability due to accident.
- Source
- — Department of Financial Services
- Page / section
- — nature of the scheme
- Accessed
- 1 Oct 2026
- Confidence
- high
InsurerBank of Maharashtra identifies United India Insurance Company Limited (UIIC) as its PMSBY partner under an MOU dated 21 April 2015.View source
The current BoM page names UIIC and states that the bank executed an MOU on 21 April 2015.
- Source
- — Bank of Maharashtra
- Page / section
- Current page — MOU and insurer partnership
- Accessed
- 1 Oct 2026
- Confidence
- high
Sum insured / cover₹2,00,000 for accidental death or specified permanent total disability; ₹1,00,000 for specified permanent partial disability.View source
The current benefit schedule assigns ₹2 lakh to death and specified total disability and ₹1 lakh to specified partial disability.
- Source
- — Department of Financial Services
- Page / section
- — benefit table
- Accessed
- 1 Oct 2026
- Confidence
- high
Entry age18–70 years (age nearest birthday) for an eligible savings-bank account holder.View source
The states the 18–70 enrolment band and ends cover at age 70, age nearer birthday.
- Source
- — Department of Financial Services
- Page / section
- — eligible account holders; cover termination age
- Accessed
- 1 Oct 2026
- Confidence
- high
Policy termOne year, from 1 June to 31 May; renewed annually when the required premium is debited and eligibility continues.View source
The current defines annual cover from 1 June through 31 May.
- Source
- — Department of Financial Services
- Page / section
- — enrolment period and modality
- Accessed
- 1 Oct 2026
- Confidence
- high
Premium₹20 per member per year by one-installment auto-debit. The ₹12 figure in the linked BoM PDF belongs to the original 2015 version and is not current.View source
Both current pages publish ₹20 per year; the bank-linked eight-page 2015 prints ₹12 in its original form and rules, so that amount is retained only as historical context.
- Source
- — Bank of Maharashtra and Department of Financial Services
- Page / section
- BoM — annual premium and auto-debit; DFS — current premium and appropriation; historical linked cross-check
- Accessed
- 1 Oct 2026
- Confidence
- high
Risk startFor the regular annual cycle, BoM says cover starts on 1 June when premium is debited by the cut-off. For delayed enrolment or rejoining, the DFS FAQ says risk cover starts on the date the premium is auto-debited; it does not prescribe a fixed day-based waiting period.View source
The current scheme ties delayed-entry risk to auto-debit; BoM ties the regular cycle to 1 June when the premium is debited by the cut-off.
- Source
- — Department of Financial Services and Bank of Maharashtra
- Page / section
- DFS — delayed entry/rejoining; BoM — risk coverage start
- Accessed
- 1 Oct 2026
- Confidence
- high
Key coverageAccidental death and the listed permanent disabilities: ₹2,00,000 for death or total and irrecoverable loss of both eyes, both hands/ feet, or one eye plus one hand/ foot; ₹1,00,000 for total and irrecoverable loss of sight in one eye or use of one hand/ foot.View source
The current schedule distinguishes death and specified total disability from the narrower one-eye or one-limb partial-disability benefit.
- Source
- — Department of Financial Services
- Page / section
- — full benefit schedule
- Accessed
- 1 Oct 2026
- Confidence
- high
Exclusions and claim limitsSuicide death is not covered; murder and qualifying natural-calamity accidents are covered. There is no hospitalisation-expense reimbursement, no benefit for partial disabilities outside the listed losses, and only one claim is payable where premiums were debited through multiple accounts.View source
The current states suicide is excluded, murder and qualifying natural-calamity accidents are covered, hospitalization is not reimbursed, and unlisted partial disability earns no benefit.
- Source
- — Department of Financial Services
- Page / section
- — natural calamity/suicide/murder; hospitalisation; claim-count and partial-disability answers
- Accessed
- 1 Oct 2026
- Confidence
- high
EligibilityA Bank of Maharashtra savings-account holder aged 18–70 may enrol with consent and auto-debit; an individual may join through only one savings account across participating banks. Aadhaar is recommended as primary KYC on the BoM page, not stated as a mandatory condition.View source
BoM identifies savings-account age eligibility and calls Aadhaar recommended; both sources limit a person to one account for scheme cover.
- Source
- — Bank of Maharashtra and Department of Financial Services
- Page / section
- BoM — eligibility, Aadhaar and multiple policies; DFS — scheme-wide one-account rule
- Accessed
- 1 Oct 2026
- Confidence
- high
Enrolment and paymentBoM lists branch submission of the consent form, savings-account auto-debit and KYC for enrolment. The ₹20 annual premium is debited once per year; electronic voluntary enrolment may pass the saved commission to the subscriber by reducing the insurer-premium component, but the DFS page does not state a separate reduced total.View source
BoM lists the branch consent, account auto-debit and route; DFS specifies annual auto-debit and the electronic-enrolment commission benefit.
- Source
- — Bank of Maharashtra and Department of Financial Services
- Page / section
- BoM — enrolment and premium; DFS — auto-debit and premium appropriation
- Accessed
- 1 Oct 2026
- Confidence
- high
Claim documentsBoM's FAQ says typical claim documents are the claim form, death/disability certificate, FIR or accident report where applicable, and the nominee's bank details. The older bank-linked claim form additionally asks for the original FIR/post-mortem report/death certificate for death claims and a Civil Surgeon disability certificate.View source
The current lists the typical claimant checklist; the bank-linked form is historical and asks for original death evidence or a Civil Surgeon disability certificate.
- Source
- — Bank of Maharashtra; linked claim form
- Page / section
- Current BoM — claim documents; linked 2015 p.2 claim form
- Accessed
- 1 Oct 2026
- Confidence
- high
Termination conditionsCover ends at age 70, when the linked account closes or lacks sufficient funds for the debit, or on cancellation. Multiple enrolments are restricted to one account and duplicate premiums may be forfeited; BoM says a missed debit may leave the member without cover for that year.View source
BoM says a missed premium may lapse that year's cover and cancellation stops cover; the DFS adds age-70, account and duplicate-cover restrictions.
- Source
- — Bank of Maharashtra and Department of Financial Services
- Page / section
- BoM — insufficient balance, exit and multiple policies; DFS — cover termination
- Accessed
- 1 Oct 2026
- Confidence
- high
Benefits and features
- ₹2,00,000 for accidental death or permanent total disability
- ₹1,00,000 for specified permanent partial disability
- ₹20 annual premium collected by auto-debit
- Cover renews each year from 1 June to 31 May
- Accident claim documents and reporting rules are published in the official
Eligibility
- Savings-account holder must be aged 18–70 and consent to one-account auto-debit; participating public-sector or approved general insurers administer the cover.
Passing a listed condition does not mean the bank will approve an application.
Documents the bank lists
- consent-cum-declaration form
- Savings-account and auto-debit mandate
- Nominee details and accident/death/disability evidence for claims